Lisa Chang Lee

Lisa Chang Lee (b. 1986, lives and works in Beijing and London) works with a range of media including moving image, installation, sound, prints and photography. During her residency, she will explore Berlin's Grunewald forest for traces from its complex history: from the refuge of the wealthy during the Industrial Revolution to the resting place of nameless workers; from the green shield of the listening station during the Cold War to the keeper of hundreds of unexploded bombs from World War II.

© Lisa Chang Lee, Still from audio-visual installation “Serenade of the Woods” (2018-19)

If a picture is worth a thousand words, what would the survival of this largest greenbelt in this historic city tell us about the past, and does it shape our understanding of what we see in nature? Chang Lee will explore these questions by researching and collecting visual and audio material while on site, with the goal of composing visual essays from her observations.

“I'm especially excited to come to this place because my father taught as a visiting professor at the University of the Arts in Berlin for a month just before the fall of the Wall. About that, I feel very connected to the city's special history and want to trace its imprint to this day.” Lisa Chang Lee

Lisa Chang Lee has exhibited nationally and internationally, including at York Art Gallery, Seoul Biennale of Architecture and Urbanism (South Korea), Ashmolean Museum (UK).

Lisa Chang Lee

Lisa Chang Lee (geb. 1986, lebt und arbeitet in Peking und London) arbeitet mit einer Reihe von Medien wie Bewegtbild, Installation, Sound und Fotografie. Während ihrer Residenz wird sie den Grunewald nach Spuren aus der komplexen Geschichte des Waldes erforschen: vom Zufluchtsort der Wohlhabenden während der industriellen Revolution bis zur Ruhestätte der namenlosen Arbeiter; vom grünen Schild der Abhörstation während des Kalten Krieges bis zum Bewahrer hunderter nicht explodierter Bomben aus dem Zweiten Weltkrieg.

© Lisa Chang Lee, Standbild aus der audiovisuellen Installation „Serenade of the Woods“ (2018-19)

Wenn ein Bild mehr als tausend Worte sagt, was würde uns das Überleben dieses größten Grüngürtels in dieser historischen Stadt über die Vergangenheit sagen und prägt es unser Verständnis von dem, was wir in der Natur sehen? Chang Lee wird diesen Fragen nachgehen, indem sie während ihres Aufenthalts vor Ort recherchiert und Bild- und Audiomaterial sammelt, mit dem Ziel, aus ihren Beobachtungen visuelle Essays zu komponieren.

„Ich freue mich besonders, an diesen Ort zu kommen, da mein Vater kurz vor dem Mauerfall für einen Monat als Gastprofessor an der Universität der Künste in Berlin lehrte. Darüber fühle ich mich sehr mit der besonderen Geschichte der Stadt verbunden und möchte ihrer Prägung für das Heute nachgehen.“ Lisa Chang Lee

Lisa Chang Lee hat bereits national und international ausgestellt, u. a. in der York Art Gallery, der Seoul Biennale für Architektur und Urbanismus (Südkorea), Ashmolean Museum (UK).