Sonja Knecht

Sonja Knecht works with the materiality of language. She experiments with the interplay of sound, form, and content, guided by her linguistic findings. Rhythm, repetition, and seriality play a major role in her work.

stop this, 2021. Handwritten in Faber-Castell Pink with a Pelikan fountain pen. Published in ToCall Magazine No. 15, 06/2021

Using words or verses as starting material, she explores their verbal and visual possibilities. What's inside a word? What does the arrangement, what does the shape of a verse do to its content? Do new layers of meaning emerge? Does something change when we look closer, and try again, differently?

Writing as an experimental practice, and especially handwriting is important to Sonja Knecht. She uses classic tools as the analogue typewriter and (mostly for preliminary studies) the computer, but also built letters and a drawing form of writing, “sketch writing”, zeichnendes Schreiben, as she calls it.

In the Schwanenwerder house finally there is time for her experiments, says the artist. Here she finds peace. She enjoys her island walks and the view over the lake, “everyday different”. In addition to the technique she uses, such as her automatic writing, she notes that “automatically” an artistic movement also sets in, stimulated by the place and space.

Sometimes Sonja Knecht in her processes arrives at a completely different point than initially imagined. Sometimes content and form play together, sometimes they seem to contradict each other; in both cases the effect intensifies. Her text art is a game of trial and error with an open outcome.

“What I absolutely need for writing,” says Sonja Knecht, “I have thought so, but only really felt it here: I need an empty house. A space without distractions, and, very importantly, a certain bareness. There must be as few things around me as possible.” For her, the silence of winter amplifies this effect – and her productivity.

hör auf // stop it, 2021. Typewritten on an Olympia Splendid 66
Die besten Texte // The best texts, 2016. Poster 50×70 cm, typeface Schmale Fanfare (from 1927), wooden letters, printed on a Korrex proof press Berlin Kraft Spezial (text Sonja Knecht, typography Ferdinand Ulrich, photo Norman Posselt for P98a, Berlin)

Sonja Knecht's visual-verbal exhibition and readings are expected to take place at the end of February 2022.

www.txet.de

Update

Due to the pandemic, the closing event will take place on 18 and 19 June 2022 – reading and more with Sonja Knecht. Detailed information: Invitation to the work show and lecture performance

Sonja Knecht

Sonja Knecht arbeitet mit der Materialität von Sprache. Sie experimentiert mit dem Zusammenspiel von Laut, Form und Inhalt. Von sprachlichen Einfällen und Auffälligkeiten lässt sie sich leiten. Rhythmus, Reihung und Repetition spielen in ihrer Arbeit eine große Rolle.

stop this, 2021. Handwritten in Faber-Castell Pink with a Pelikan fountain pen. Published in ToCall Magazine No. 15, 06/2021

Mit Wörtern oder Versen als Ausgangsmaterial erkundet sie visuelle und verbale Möglichkeiten, Bedeutungsgehalt herauszustellen. Schriftlichkeit, insbesondere Handschriftlichkeit sind ihr dafür wichtig. Die klassisch-analoge Schreibmaschine sowie (meist für Vorstudien) der Computer, gebaute Buchstaben und zeichnendes, skizzenhaftes Schreiben, wie sie es nennt, kommen zum Einsatz.

Was macht die Anordnung, was die Gestalt(ung) der Wörter mit deren Inhalt? Treten neue Bedeutungsschichten zutage? Werden einzelne Aspekte betont, verändert sich etwas?

Im Inselhaus ist für ihre Experimente endlich Zeit, so die Künstlerin. Hier findet sie Ruhe. Sie genießt ihre Inselrundgänge und den Blick über den See, jeden Tag anders. Neben bewusst eingesetzten Techniken wie dem automatischen Schreiben setzt hier „automatisch“ ein künstlerisches In-Bewegung-Kommen ein, beobachtet sie.

Manchmal gelangt Sonja Knecht in ihren Prozessen zu neuem Bedeutungsgehalt. Oder zu einem ganz anderen Punkt als anfangs erahnt. Manchmal spielen Inhalt und Form zusammen, manchmal scheinen sie sich zu widersprechen; in beiden Fällen verstärkt sich die Wirkung. Ihre Textkunst ist ein Ausprobieren mit offenem Ausgang.

„Was ich unbedingt zum Schreiben brauche“, sagt Sonja Knecht, „habe ich geahnt, hier aber erst so richtig gespürt: ein leeres Haus. Einen Raum ohne Ablenkung, und, ganz wichtig, eine gewisse Kargheit. Es dürfen so wenig wie möglich Dinge um mich herum sein.“ Die Stille des Winters verstärkt für sie diesen Effekt – und ihre Produktivität.

hör auf // stop it, 2021. Typewritten on an Olympia Splendid 66
Die besten Texte, 2016. Plakat 50×70 cm, Schrift Schmale Fanfare (von 1927), Holzbuchstaben, gedruckt auf einer Korrex-Andruckpresse Berlin Kraft Spezial (Text Sonja Knecht, Typografie Ferdinand Ulrich, Foto Norman Posselt)

Voraussichtlich Ende Februar 2022 findet Sonja Knechts visuell-verbale Werkschau mit Lesung und Gespräch statt.

www.txet.de

Update

Safe the date: Wegen der Pandemie findet die Abschlussveranstaltung am 18. und 19. Juni 2022 statt – Lesung und mehr mit Sonja Knecht. Ausführliche Informationen: Einladung zur Werkschau und Lecture Performance