Hania Mariam Luthufi

One passion, many cultures: Singer and composer Hania Mariam Luthufi combines in her music the musical traditions of her native Sri Lanka with the free improvisation of jazz. She considers herself particularly rooted in the traditional music of India, where she studied music intensively for 10 years. She has already composed numerous film scores, led master classes and founded her own school in Sri Lanka to strengthen the importance of music despite or especially in all the turmoil.

Hania Mariam Luthufi © Deshan Tennekoon

“I discovered my fascination with jazz as a child. But I wanted to go further. I love to deal with the roots of music, to interweave them. I'm especially helped by the ancient Sanskrit languages I learn through singing.” Hania Mariam Luthufi

In doing so, she sensitively senses situations and emotions that unfold in her compositions in an opening tapestry of sound. The singer will continue to explore European musical traditions during her fellowship. She is especially curious about the connection with European cultures, which she wants to combine with the Indian singing tradition. To this end, she will visit Greece as part of the scholarship to study their musical tradition, then in Berlin she will continue this together with the British clarinetist Samantha Wright, who teaches jazz in Hamburg. The result will be a composition of her own that unites everything. And who knows, maybe some grooves from her time with her Afro-Cuban band from Sri Lanka will flow into it.

Hania Luthufi will present her music in different showcases.
On 04.08. and 07.08. in Berlin at the opening of the vernissage of the founder and sculptor Franziska Seifert, on 27.08. at the music festival of the Cordts Foundation (private event), on 31.08. at “Hammer Weine” in Hamburg and on 04.09.2022 in the Damnatz Sculpture Garden.

The artist will finish her scholarship in mid-September.

Hania Mariam Luthufi

Eine Leidenschaft, viele Kulturen: Die Sängerin und Komponistin Hania Mariam Luthufi verbindet in ihrer Musik die musikalischen Traditionen ihrer Heimat Sri Lankas mit der freien Improvisation des Jazz. Besonders verwurzelt sieht sie sich in der traditionellen Musik Indiens, wo sie 10 Jahre intensiv Musik studiert hat. Sie hat bereits zahlreiche Filmmusiken komponiert, Masterklassen geleitet und eine eigene Schule in Sri Lanka gegründet, um die Bedeutung der Musik trotz oder gerade in all den Unruhen zu stärken.

Hania Mariam Luthufi © Deshan Tennekoon

„Meine Faszination für den Jazz habe ich schon als Kind entdeckt. Aber ich wollte weiter. Ich liebe es, mich mit den Wurzeln der Musik auseinanderzusetzen, diese miteinander zu verflechten. Dabei helfen mir besonders die alten Sanskrit-Sprachen, die ich durch den Gesang erlerne.“ Hania Mariam Luthufi

Dabei erspürt Hania Luthufi feinfühlig Situationen und Emotionen, die sich in ihren Kompositionen in einem sich öffnenden Klangteppich entfalten. Die Sängerin wird sich während ihres Stipendiums weiter mit europäischen Musiktraditionen auseinandersetzen. Besonders neugierig ist sie auf die Verbindung mit europäischen Kulturen, die sie mit der indischen Gesangstradition verbinden will. Hierfür besucht sie im Rahmen des Stipendiums Griechenland, um deren Musiktradition zu studieren, in Berlin dann setzt sie dies zusammen mit der britischen Klarinettistin Samantha Wright, die in Hamburg Jazz unterrichtet. Dabei wird eine eigene, alles verbindende Komposition entstehen. Und wer weiß, vielleicht fließen auch ein paar Grooves aus ihrer Zeit mit ihrer afro-kubanischen Band aus Sri Lanka ein.

Hania Luthufi wird ihre Musik in verschiedenen Showcases präsentieren.
Am 04.08. und 07.08. in Berlin zur Eröffnung der Vernissage der Stifterin und Bildhauerin Franziska Seifert, am 27.08. auf dem Musikfestival der Cordts-Stiftung (private Veranstaltung), am 31.08. bei „Hammer Weine“ in Hamburg und am 04.09.2022 im Skulpturengarten Damnatz.

Die Künstlerin wird ihr Stipendium Mitte September beenden.