Monika Müller-Klug

You can almost hear the grinding of moving gears. Monika Müller-Klug's wooden sculptures are characterised by interesting mechanical details such as hinges, rollers and wheels, as well as by torsions and wave forms – the granddaughter of a miller obviously enjoys playing with the family tradition. Born in Bremen, she initially worked as a teacher after completing her studies. In 1965 she moved to West Berlin with her husband, the sculptor Klaus Müller-Klug.

Monika Müller-Klug

There she began her sculptural work and worked alongside her husband. They were both members of “Gruppe Plastik 71”, a group of 21 sculptors who intended to bridge the distance betweem themselves and the visitors of their exhibitions. They showed sculptures as well as work processes and invited the audience to touch, experience and literally grasp the art works. To this day, Monika Müller-Klug has remained true to this idea.

As is the case in many artists' marriages, the woman often held a teaching position and was the family's main bread winner. Monika Müller-Klug's situation was no different. For a long time, her job as a teacher supported her husband and three sons and she had to put back her own artistic ambitions. Consequently she is looking forward to her stay on Schwanenwerder, where she can work undisturbed.

Monika und Klaus Müller-Klug have been living in Damnatz (Lower Saxony) since 1972. In 1988 they founded the “Westwendischer Kunstverein” in their new home and created a sculpture garden 22 years later which still dominates their work to this day.

Monika Müller-Klug became known to a wider audience with her “Plantings”, a new form of sculpture which merges wooden or stone elements with plants. The natural growth of the plant partly determines the shape of the sculpture. And despite regular pruning, the sculpture changes and remains in motion.

The self-taught sculptor and lyricist works with living plants as well as paper but prefers to work with wood. Her favourite tools are chisel, hedge trimmer, pencil, laptop and chainsaw. The latter she will take along to Schwanenwerder and use it to work on a huge oak trunk. Visitors will be able to admire the result in a closing exhibition before the next female artist moves in to begin her work.

Monika Müller-Klug

Man hört fast das Knarzen sich bewegender Zahnräder. Monika Müller-Klugs Holz-Skulpturen zeichnen sich durch eine interessante Mechanik aus: Scharniere, Rollen, Räder, Torsionen, Wellenformen – die Enkelin eines Müllers hat sichtlich Spaß daran, mit der Familientradition zu spielen. Dabei arbeitete die gebürtige Bremerin nach dem Studium zunächst als Lehrerin. 1965 zog sie zusammen mit ihrem Mann, dem Bildhauer Klaus Müller-Klug, nach Westberlin.

Monika Müller-Klug

Dort begann ihre bildhauerische Arbeit gemeinsam mit ihrem Mann. Beide waren Mitglieder der „Gruppe Plastik 71“. Insgesamt 21 Bildhauer versuchten in ihren Ausstellungen die Distanz zu den Besuchern abzubauen. Sie zeigten Skulpturen sowie Arbeitsabläufe und forderten das Publikum zum Anfassen, Erfahren und im wahrsten Wortsinn Begreifen auf. Dieser Idee ist Monika Müller-Klug bis heute treu geblieben.

Wie es in vielen Künstlerehen ist, war auch sie als Lehrerin lange Zeit die Hauptverdienerin der Familie – für Ehemann und drei Söhne – und musste zurückstecken. Daher freut sie sich auf den Aufenthalt auf Schwanenwerder, wo sie ganz ungestört arbeiten kann.

Seit 1972 leben Monika und Klaus Müller-Klug in Damnatz (Niedersachsen). In ihrer neuen Heimat gründeten sie 1988 den „Westwendischen Kunstverein“. 22 Jahre später entstand dort ein Skulpturengarten, der bis heute ihre Arbeit bestimmt.

Einem breiteren Publikum bekannt wurde Monika Müller-Klug mit ihren „Plantings“, einer neuen Form der Skulptur, die eine Verbindung aus naturgewachsenen Formpflanzen mit Holz oder Steinelementen darstellt. Dabei bestimmt die Pflanze durch ihren Wuchs die Ausprägung der Skulpturen zum Teil mit. Trotz des regelmäßigen Formschnitts verändert sie sich und bleibt in Bewegung.

Die autodidaktische Bildhauerin und Lyrikerin arbeitet am liebsten mit Holz, aber auch mit lebenden Pflanzen und Papier. Ihre wichtigsten Werkzeuge dabei sind Stechbeitel, Heckenschere, Bleistift, Laptop und Kettensäge. Letztere wird sie auch mit nach Schwanenwerder nehmen. Das Ergebnis können Besucher bestaunen, bevor die nächste Künstlerin hier Quartier bezieht.