Amany Atef

The dancer and educator Amany Atef moved into the Künstlerhaus on 1 September 2022. She will use her fellowship to continue working on her research project “Bluebottle Flies” – a project about the perceptions and experiences of psychological-social behaviour. Amany Atef aims to create awareness about one of the most underrated mental disorders, bipolar disorder, which affects millions of people worldwide; a life lived between elation and depression.

During her artistic residency, Amany Atef will develop a choreography that translates her work on the social and individual psychological imbalance into a dance performance.

“I continue to assert that our understanding of mental disorders remains limited, especially in Middle Eastern, Arab, and African countries. Therefore, my work focuses on making connections between art and psychology.” Amany Atef

Amany Atef studied contemporary dance at the Faculty of Arts, Helwan University in Cairo. She works as a contemporary performer, theater actress, choreographer and teacher of contemporary dance and ballet. She strongly believes that art can be used as a tool for human development, bringing people and communities together.
In her work, she also uses participatory theater, therapeutic drama, and other arts-based processes for healing, dialogue, and social commonality.

The artist will conclude her fellowship at the end of November with the presentation of her dance performance.

amanyibrahim737.wixsite.com/website

Amany Atef

Die Tänzerin und Pädagogin Amany Atef ist am 1. September 2022 in das Künstlerhaus eingezogen. Sie wird ihr Stipendium nutzen, um an ihrem Forschungsprojekt „Bluebottle Flies“ weiterzuarbeiten – ein Projekt über die Wahrnehmungen und Erfahrungen von psychologisch-sozialem Verhalten. Amany Atef möchte ein Bewusstsein schaffen über eine der am meisten unterschätzten psychischen Störungen, die bipolare Störung, an der Millionen Menschen weltweit leiden; ein Leben zwischen Hochgefühl und Depression.

Während ihres künstlerischen Aufenthalts wird Amany Atef eine Choreografie entwickeln, die ihre Arbeit über das soziale und individuelle psychologische Ungleichgewicht in eine Tanzperformance umsetzt.

„Ich behaupte weiterhin, dass unser Verständnis von psychischen Störungen nach wie vor begrenzt ist, insbesondere in den Ländern des Nahen Ostens, Arabiens und Afrikas. Deshalb konzentriert sich meine Arbeit darauf, Verbindungen zwischen Kunst und Psychologie herzustellen.“ Amany Atef

Amany Atef hat zeitgenössischen Tanz an der Kunstfakultät der Helwan-Universität in Kairo studiert. Sie arbeitet als zeitgenössische Performerin, Theaterschauspielerin, Choreografin und Lehrerin für zeitgenössischen Tanz und Ballett. Sie glaubt fest daran, dass Kunst als Werkzeug für die menschliche Entwicklung genutzt werden kann, dass sie Menschen und Gemeinschaften zusammenbringt.
In ihrer Arbeit verwendet sie auch partizipatives Theater, therapeutisches Drama und andere kunstbasierte Prozesse für Heilung, Dialog und gesellschaftliche Gemeinsamkeit.

Die Künstlerin wird ihr Stipendium Ende November mit der Präsentation ihrer Tanzperformance beenden.

amanyibrahim737.wixsite.com/website