Hau Chun Kwong

I Am Listening Where the Wind Blows …

“Nature's life is endless, full of power and freedom.” In life and death, Hau Chun Kwong searches for inner feelings and voices, wants to bring alive the simplest beauty of nature. To do this, she uses various techniques such as words, works on paper, woodcuts, still images or videos – an emotional dialogue.

“The tranquility on Schwanenwerder finally gives me the opportunity to trace the subtle voices. At the same time as me, many refugees from Ukraine have arrived in Berlin, an old city with traumas and history. The inner contradictions, like the ups and downs of the ocean waves – maybe it's this sense of the end that makes me look seriously at Berlin again, a passerby that doesn't belong here.”

Hau Chun Kwong has been exhibiting worldwide since 1988, among others in her hometown Hong Kong, Munich, Italy or Bolzano. She studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Canton and Munich, was a master student of Prof. Cristina Iglesias, among others, and won the 1st prize of the StadtAcker Art Project 2018.

www.hauchunkwong.de

“China's Female Artists Reside in Berlin-Schwanenwerder” – a cooperation between the Gesellschaft für Deutsch-Chinesischen kulturellen Austausch e. V. (GeKA e. V.) and Cordts Art Foundation

Update

We invite you to the open studio of our scholarship holder Hau Chun Kwong on 1 May 2022 at the Künstlerhaus on Schwanenwerder. Detailed information: Invitation to the open studio

Hau Chun Kwong

I am listening where the wind blows …

„Das Leben von Natur ist endlos, voller Kraft und Freiheit.“ Im Leben und im Tod sucht Hau Chun Kwong nach inneren Gefühlen und Stimmen, will die einfachste Schönheit der Natur lebendig machen. Dafür verwendet sie verschiedene Techniken wie Worte, Arbeiten auf Papier, Holzschnitte, stehende Bilder oder Videos – ein emotionaler Dialog.

„Die Ruhe auf Schwanenwerder gibt mir endlich die Möglichkeit, den feinen Stimmen nachzuspüren. Zeitgleich mit mir sind viele Flüchtlinge aus der Ukraine in Berlin angekommen, einer alten Stadt mit Traumata und Geschichte. Die inneren Widersprüche, wie das Auf und Ab der Meereswogen – vielleicht ist es dieses Gefühl des Endes, das mich wieder ernsthaft auf Berlin blicken lässt, ein Passant, der hier nicht hingehört.“

Hau Chun Kwong stellt bereits seit 1988 weltweit aus, unter anderem in ihrer Heimatstadt Hongkong, München, Italien oder Bozen. Sie hat in der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Kanton und München studiert, war u. a. Meisterschülerin bei Prof. Cristina Iglesias und hat den 1. Preis des StadtAcker-Kunstprojekts 2018 gewonnen.

www.hauchunkwong.de

„Chinas Künstlerinnen residieren in Berlin-Schwanenwerder“ – eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Gesellschaft für Deutsch-Chinesischen kulturellen Austausch e. V. (GeKA e. V.) und Cordts Art Foundation

Update

Wir laden Sie herzlich ein zum Offenen Atelier unserer Stipendiatin Hau Chun Wong am 1. Mai 2022 im Künstlerhaus auf Schwanenwerder. Ausführliche Informationen: Einladung zum Offenen Atelier