Alice Pedroletti

Islands have taken a liking to artist Alice Pedroletti, who has lived for many years between Milan and Berlin. As a visual artist, she explores the relationship between artwork and viewer, the aspects of being and vision.

During her fellowship, she will explore the history of Schwanenwerder, geographically and historically. Her work will be photographic and sculptural, using archival material and models.

“I consider islands as monuments, pre-existent architectures, hourglasses: random, drifting, floating stones. Every island I examine harbors a second possible island underwater. It is seemingly unknown, mysterious, unreachable.” Alice Pedroletti

Alice Pedroletti has been researching floating islands for ten years.
Currently, boats – the objects we use to reach islands, regardless of geographic and urban locations or social conditions – are the focus of her research. She is working on a prototype of a foldable and portable sculpture boat: a metaphorical, body-sized “object” that can be used to reach the real and imagined places she is exploring.

The scholarship holder will live on Schwanenwerder until mid-February 2023. From April 2023, she will then exhibit in the new spaces of the “nogallery” in Ludwigkirchstraße in Wilmersdorf. The exact date is yet to be announced.

www.notalike.com

Alice Pedroletti

Inseln haben es der Künstlerin Alice Pedroletti, die viele Jahre zwischen Milan und Berlin gelebt hat, angetan. Als bildende Künstlerin untersucht sie die Beziehung zwischen Kunstwerk und Betrachter, die Aspekte des Seins und der Vision.

Während ihres Stipendiums wird sie sich mit der Geschichte von Schwanenwerder beschäftigen, geografisch und historisch. Ihre Arbeit wird fotografisch und skulptural sein, mit Archivmaterial und Modellen.

„Ich betrachte Inseln als Denkmäler, präexistente Architekturen, Sanduhren: zufällige, treibende, schwimmende Steine. Jede Insel, die ich untersuche, birgt unter Wasser eine zweite mögliche Insel. Sie ist scheinbar unbekannt, geheimnisvoll, unerreichbar.“ Alice Pedroletti

Alice Pedroletti forscht seit zehn Jahren über schwimmende Inseln.
Derzeit stehen Boote – die Objekte, die wir benutzen, um Inseln zu erreichen, unabhängig von geografischen und urbanen Orten oder sozialen Bedingungen – im Mittelpunkt ihrer Untersuchungen. Sie arbeitet an einem Prototyp eines faltbaren und tragbaren Skulpturenboots: ein metaphorisches, körpergroßes „Objekt“, mit dem die realen und imaginären Orte, die sie erforscht, erreicht werden können.

Die Stipendiatin wird bis Mitte Februar 2023 auf Schwanenwerder leben. Ab April 2023 wird sie dann in den neuen Räumen der „nogallery“ in der Ludwigkirchstraße in Wilmersdorf ausstellen. Das genaue Datum wird noch bekannt gegeben.

www.notalike.com